You’re Hired!

Read time: 3 minutes

What are you crazy passionate about? What’s that one subject that, once you get going, no one can seem to shut you up? What makes your mind race with ideas and excitement flood your body? And please tell me why you aren’t doing anything with all of that passion? I mean seriously, how have you managed to keep all of that locked up inside of you all this time?

During a call that I had sometime last year, I was sharing with someone how deeply I want to reach out to and help impoverished youth. How I want to equip them with the skills and knowledge necessary to climb out of their circumstances and break the cycle of poverty that has plagued their families for generations. I mentioned that I had enrolled back into school and after completing my degree, I hoped to find a job as a Program Manager doing work that aligned with my passions. “Why wait until then? Is there anything you can do to have an impact now?” Well there’s something I hadn’t thought about.

I floated the idea around in my head for a bit and a few weeks later, I approached my pastor to ask for his permission to teach the youth at our church about leadership, service to others and being good stewards over the gifts, talents and resources that have been entrusted to them. I wouldn’t exactly call these youth “impoverished” but hey, it was a place to start. After teaming up with some awesome ladies in my church and going through months of planning, the quarterly “Leaders in the Making Conference” was born.

Romans 8:28-30 says, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.” What I need you to know is that you were hand-selected for this walk. The plan for your life has already been laid out and your steps have been ordered. There are going to be times when it will be absolutely unnecessary for you to apply for a new job so that a total stranger can peruse over your qualifications and confirm that you are capable of carrying out the duties specified in their job listing. Stop doubting your ability to carry out the dreams in your heart and dare to take initiative. Hire yourself.

Why wait for the right opportunity to fall in your lap when you can create it, with God’s help and direction?

King Solomon said, “In all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty”(Proverbs 14:23). As much as we love seeing your face light up when you talk about what really matters to you, I ask that if God leads you to take a step toward a new and unfamiliar path, that you would have the courage to do so. Because while there may or may not be financial profit that comes from doing so, profit can also come in the form of satisfaction. Satisfaction that only comes from doing something that is truly fulfilling. And don’t think that poverty is only represented by lack. Poverty is also emptiness. A void. It is guilt and regret.

Without having any knowledge of your skills and experience, I just want to let you know that you are qualified. If you’ll just step out and try, I am certain that God will bless your efforts.

Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us; yes, establish the work of our hands!”(Psalm 90:17).

Did you enjoy this post? If so, please be sure to hit the “Like” button and leave a comment. Also feel free to share using the social media handles below!

2 responses to “You’re Hired!”

  1. Tawanna Chism Avatar
    Tawanna Chism

    Love it!!! 🏆💎🙌🏽

    Like

    1. Aww thank you sis, I appreciate you so much!!!

      Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.